fbpx
the-heartbeast-is-on-the-loose

WellBad's new album "HEARTBEAST" was released on 07.June 2019!!!

Out now - the second single release "Bad day for the Blues". A feature with Samantha Martin from Canada nominated for the JUNO AWARD 2019.

Do you want to see the whole thing live? Then just click on Gigs.

Always up-to-date with the NEWS!

"HEARTBEAST" is available on Amazon !

You can also order all WellBad albums here on our homepage. Contact

“Well done, WellBad!” – DIE WELT
“A PHENOMENON” – CLASSIC ROCKS
“BEAUTIFULLY DIRTY” – ECLIPSED
Awarded by the German Record Critics' Prize 2017

This voice sounds like a hundred lives. Daniel Welbat sings like he’s been hanging out in the darkest of dive bars for years. Gripping his pen, he nervously jots his lyrics down on yellowed bar receipts, eyes wandering across the crowded joint. He is on the hunt for stories, for dreams.

“The little things, told in a big way…” That is his goal!

Daniel Welbat‘s new album HEARTBEAST is an homage to his deep love for movies. Born into a family of artists and filmmakers, Welbat spent the better part of his youth on film sets. “That was a big influence. This electrifying dance on that fine line between truth and art. I wanted to dedicate an album to that part of my world – which is why HEARTBEAST is the soundtrack to a movie that has never been made.

The HEARTBEAST plot makes for a stirring live performance as the audience takes in the tales of one E.L. Kruger. E.L.’s wild ride into the abyss of his being lasts twelve songs.
This is roots rock falling in love with hip hop. Jazzy scintillations kept in check by the Blues. Glorious melodies and catchy hooks pull you in and won’t let go. And through it all, this marvelous band with their gripping groove manages to present the sophisticated arrangements in an accessible way.

The overture: “Young.” Stomping, pulsating, edgy – a dance on the volcano.

As the 29 year-old song writer declares in a garbled voice - “Ain’t too done to die young!“

The second song tells the true story of Joseph Merrick, the so-called “Elephant Man.” The singing is rap-like, the bass saxophone is wailing, and Daniel Welbat takes his audience ever deeper into his personal life movie.

In the up-tempo song “Robbery,” the listener suddenly witnesses a bank robbery. But the song is not so much about stealing a bunch of money as about the brutal end of a tragic love affair.

“Heal a Wound” is a journey along the dream-like songlines of the Blues, right through the darkest realms of the soul. The conciliatory end however offers a bit of hope – albeit in a rather morbid fashion: “Be grateful! You still got a body left to ruin!“

“Skeleton“ is a mystical, healing piece inviting us to dance all our worries, all our pain away.

From “The Void,” a primal shout-out to the long lost and forgotten, the movie takes us to the pumping electric guitar sounds of “The Overfeeding,” the hysterical, desperate beat of “Off-Tuned Body” to the ice-cold reckoning with an ex-lover in “Limited Tears.” But while there’s life, there’s hope, and so in “Bad Day for the Blues,” a quirky duet featuring two searching souls, the lovers manage to reunite.

“Let it Sin“ opens yet another trap door in the Wellbadian world of stories - and by now no one can tell where reality stops and fiction sets in anymore.

But it really doesn’t matter much, because we’ve already reached the last and most intimate song on the album: “Spit It Out.” One last gasp, one final blissful sigh, an epic love song about love itself. And then the movie’s over. The End.

HEARTBEAST is WellBad’s fourth album, produced once again by Stephan Gade, whose collaboration list includes renowned German music artists Udo Lindenberg and Ina Müller.

WellBad created a stir in Hamburg when they came out with their debut album “Beautiful Disaster” in 2011, followed by “Judgement Days“ (2015) and “The Rotten” (2017).
In 2015, WellBad won the Best Band Award at the German Blues Challenge.

The German Record Critics' Award (“Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik”) designated “The Rotten” as its Quarterly Critics' Choice in 2017.

WellBad appears on German prime-time television (ZDF, ARD, RTL, NDR) and tours as opening act for Robert Cray, Oli Brown and Tito & Tarantula.
In 2018 they wowed the audience at Hamburg’s famous Elbphilharmonie concert hall.

WellBad performs at international festivals, including Memphis, Tennessee (USA), Torrita di Siena, Italy, and at the Canadian Music Week in Toronto.

The new WellBad album also features a “Canada connection”: Upon seeing Samantha Martin perform live in Hamburg, Daniel Welbat met the up-and-coming Canadian Blues star backstage. The two musicians get to talking, and the next day they are singing together at the studio, recording “Bad Days for the Blues” for HEARTBEAST.

After their release concert this June, WellBad will be kicking off their HEARTBEAST tour. The five musicians always put their heart and soul into these live gigs. “We bring 120 per cent passion to the stage – we just love it,” the band says in excited anticipation of their tour through Germany. WellBad shows feel like a trip through heaven and hell, with no emotion left unexplored, deeply touching their audiences. Daniel Welbat lives his songs on stage, taking the crowds with him on an intoxicating hunt for stories and dreams, for light and love.

Close Menu
en_USEnglish
de_DEGerman en_USEnglish

fbpx
the-heartbeast-is-on-the-loose

WellBad’s neues Album „HEARTBEAST“ ist am 07.Juni 2019 erschienen!!!

Jetzt neu – die zweite Singleauskopplung „Bad day for the Blues“. Ein Feature mit der zum JUNO AWARD 2019 nominierten Samantha Martin aus Kanada.

Wollt ihr das Ganze mal Live sehen? Dann clickt einfach auf Gigs.

Bei den NEWS seit ihr immer up-to-date!

„HEARTBEAST“ könnt ihr auf Amazon bestellen.

Außerdem könnt ihr alle WellBad-Alben auch hier auf unserer Homepage bestellen. Contact

“Well done, WellBad!” – DIE WELT
“Ein Phänomen!” – CLASSIC ROCK
„Eine Stimme, die Autos entlackt!“ – REEPERBAHN FESTIVAL
Ausgeszeichnet vom Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik 2017

Diese Stimme klingt wie hundert Leben. Daniel Welbat singt, als hätte er Jahre in den dunkelsten Bars abgehangen. Den Stift fest in der Hand, nervös kritzelt er seine Texte auf vergilbte Bewirtungsbelege, die Augen wandern durch das belebte Lokal. Er ist auf der Jagd nach Geschichten, nach Träumen.

„Die kleinen Dinge, ganz groß erzählen“. Das ist sein Ziel!

Sein neues Album HEARTBEAST ist eine Hommage an seine große Liebe: den Film. Als Spross einer Künstler -und Filmemacher-Familie verbrachte Welbat seine Jugend größtenteils auf Filmsets. „Das hat mich geprägt. Der elektrisierende Tanz auf dem schmalen Grat zwischen Wahrheit und Kunst. Ich wollte diesem Teil meiner Welt ein Album widmen. Und darum ist HEARTBEAST der Soundtrack, zu einem Film, der niemals gedreht wurde.

Der HEARTBEAST-Plot ist Brennstoff für eine mitreißende Live-Performance. Erzählt wird die Story von E.L. Kruger. E.L.‘s wilder Ritt entlang der Abgründe des Seins dauert zwölf Songs.
Roots Rock verliebt sich in Hip Hop. Jazzige Geistesblitze werden vom Blues wieder auf den Teppich geholt. Herrliche Melodien und catchy Hooks laden zum Verlieben ein und lassen einen nur schwer wieder los. Und bei allem sorgt die großartige Band mit packendem Groove für diesen leichten Zugang zu den ausgeklügelten Arrangements.

Die Ouvertüre: „Young“. Stampfend, pulsierend, ein Tanz auf dem Vulkan.

Mit verzerrter Stimme stellt der 29-jährige Songwriter klar: „Ain’t too done to die young!“

„Elephant Man“ erzählt die wahre Geschichte Joseph Merrick’s. Dem sogenannten Elefantenmenschen. Über den rap-artigen Gesang und das Grölen des Bass-Saxophons hinweg, führt Daniel Welbat sein Publikum tiefer hinein in seinen ganz persönlichen Lebensfilm.

Im ‚Uptempo‘ Song „Robbery“ wird der Zuhörer schlagartig Zeuge eines Raubüberfalls. Jedoch geht es hier weniger um einen materiellen Diebstahl, vielmehr um das brutale Ende einer tragischen Liebesgeschichte.

Bei „Heal A Wound“ gleicht sein Gesang einer Reise auf den Traumpfaden des Blues, mitten durch die düsteren Orte der Seele. Doch das Ende ist auf bizarre Weise versöhnlich und hoffnungsvoll: „Be grateful! You still got a body left to ruin“

„Skeleton“ ist ein mystischer Tanz, ein Heilungsreigen, bei dem man die Sorgen und den Schmerz ‚wegtanzen‘ soll.

Von „The Void“, einem urschrei-ähnlichen Gruß an die längst Verlorenen und Vergessenen, führt der Film über den pumpenden E-Gitarren Sound von „The Overfeeding“, den hysterisch-verzweifelten Beat von „Off-Tuned Body“, hin zu einer eiskalten Abrechnung mit einer verflossenen Liebe bei „Limited Tears“. Aber die Hoffnung stirbt zuletzt, denn bei „Bad Day for the Blues“, einem skurrilen Liebes-Duett zweier suchender Seelen, finden die Liebenden wieder zueinander.

„Let it Sin“ öffnet eine neue Falltür im Wellbad’schen Erzähl-Kosmos und inzwischen hat man längst vergessen, was noch Realität und was schon Fiktion ist.

Allerdings ist das auch nicht mehr so wichtig, denn da beginnt bereits der letzte und intimste Song des Albums: „Spit it Out“. Ein letztes Aufbäumen, ein letzter wohliger Seufzer, ein episches Liebeslied über die Liebe selbst. Und dann ist der Film zu Ende.

HEARTBEAST ist der vierte Longplayer von WellBad und wurde erneut von Stephan Gade (Udo Lindenberg, Ina Müller) produziert.

2011 erscheint mit „Beautiful Disaster“ das Debüt und schlägt in Hamburg Wellen, es folgen „Judgement Days“ (2015) und „The Rotten“ (2017).
WellBad gewinnen 2015 die German Blues Challenge als beste Band.

Der Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik setzt „The Rotten“ 2017 auf die Bestenliste.

Sie spielen TV-Auftritte zur Primetime (ZDF, ARD, RTL, NDR), sind im Vorprogramm von Robert Cray, Oli Brown und Tito&Tarantula unterwegs.
2018 begeistern sie in der berühmten Hamburger Elbphilharmonie das Auditorium.

WellBad treten bei internationalen Festivals auf in Memphis (USA), in Torrita di Siena (Italien) und bei der Canadian Music Week in Toronto.

Eine ‚Kanada-Connection‘ findet sich ebenfalls auf der neuen WellBad-Schallplatte wieder: Nachdem Daniel Welbat in Hamburg ein Konzert von Samantha Martin, dem kanadischen ‚upcoming‘ Bluesstar, besucht, kommen die beiden Künstler Backstage ins Gespräch. Am nächsten Tag stehen sie gemeinsam im Studio und singen „Bad Day For The Blues“ für HEARTBEAST ein.

Nach dem Release-Konzert im Juni 2019 geht die 5-köpfige Hamburger Band auf HEARTBEAST-Tour. In ihre Live-Auftritte stecken WellBad jede Menge Herzblut. „Wir bringen 120 Prozent Leidenschaft auf die Bühne, wir lieben es“, blickt die Band voller Vorfreude auf die anstehende Tour quer durch die Republik. WellBad-Shows fühlen sich an wie ein Trip durch Himmel und Hölle, der keine Empfindung ausspart, tief berührt. Daniel Welbat lebt seine Songs auf der Bühne, er nimmt sein Publikum mit auf eine berauschende Jagd nach Geschichten, Träumen, Licht und Liebe.

Menü schließen
de_DEGerman
en_USEnglish de_DEGerman